Back to All Events

Wall of Honor - Nominations for 2019 Inductee(s) Available Now

Nomination Form for 2019 Inductee(s) - Due Jan 11, 2019
- Fill in & print form
- Print and fill out by hand form

The 2019 recipient will be announced in February and recognized at a special ceremony on 
Sunday, May 19, at which time a bronze plaque will be added to the limestone wall of the Municipal Services Center Plaza in their honor. 

woh walkway 1.jpg

Each year a deceased Upper Arlington resident who contributed greatly to the city, state or nation, by his or her achievements is selected for the Wall of Honor. The idea was conceived by City administration and is a joint project of the Historical Society and the City of Upper Arlington. A ceremony is held in May and a bronze plaque, dedicated to the honoree's memory is placed on the limestone wall in front of the Municipal Services Center.

To qualify for the honor, the person must be deceased and must have lived in Upper Arlington at some point in his/her life. Additionally, he/she must meet one or more of the following requirements: Be outstanding in achievement in the arts, professions, politics, science, education, sports, religion, commerce, philanthropy, public service, or a reputation that brings honor to the community, or personal commitment and service to the community, or had a lasting impact for the good of the community.

The former Wall of Honor inductees are an impressive group, including former Ohio Governor James A. Rhodes, King G. Thompson and Benjamin S. Thompson who founded Upper Arlington, OSU football coach Wayne Woodrow (Woody) Hayes, C. William O'Neill who is the only person to have held the highest office of all three branches of Ohio government, Dr. Arthur G. James who founded the OSU Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Research Institute, and Stefanie Spielman and Cindy Dyas who both worked tirelessly to raise funds and awareness in the fight against breast cancer.